Can't view our main menu?  Click here to navigate our site in older browsers.

COVER OF SNOW & WHISKEY ISLAND

Jenny Milchman, author of Cover of Snow (Ballantine, 2013) and Les Roberts, author of Whiskey Island will read and sign books at Mac's on Tuesday, March 12th at 7 p.m.

Jenny Milchman’s Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.

Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide.

The first few hours following Nora’s devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them.

“Well-defined characters take us on an emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns. This is a richly woven story that not only looks at the devastating effects of suicide but also examines life in a small town and explores the complexity of marriage. Fans of Nancy Pickard, Margaret Maron, and C. J. Box will be delighted to find this new author.” —Booklist, starred review

Les Roberts is best known for his Milan Jacovic novels set in Cleveland. Dead Money, forthcoming in spring 2013 and Whiskey Island, published in 2012 are the latest in the series. Les won the Cleveland Arts Prize for Literature in 1992 and the Sherwood Anderson Literary Award in 2003. He is past president of the Private Eye Writers of America and the American Crime Writers League. He writes regular book reviews for Cleveland’s Plain Dealer and articles for the Currents section of the Chagrin Valley Times. He’s also written for the Washington Post Book World, Northern Ohio Live and Cleveland Magazine.

 

Event date: 
Tuesday, March 12, 2013 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Event address: 
1820 Coventry Rd
44118 Cleveland Heights
us
$26.00
ISBN: 9780345534217
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - January 15th, 2013
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781938441097
Availability: Special Order
Published: Gray & Company Publishers - August 1st, 2012