Every Single Second (Paperback)

Can't view our main menu?  Click here to navigate our site in older browsers.

Every Single Second Cover Image
By Tricia Springstubb, Diana Sudyka (Illustrator)
$6.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A poignant and topical middle grade novel about the effects of an accidental shooting on family, friendship, and community. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Rita Williams-Garcia. Now available in paperback.

A single second. That’s all it takes to turn a world upside-down.

Twelve-year-old Nella Sabatini’s life is changing too soon, too fast. Her best friend Clem doesn’t seem concerned; she’s busy figuring out the best way to spend the “leap second”—an extra second about to be added to the world’s official clock.

The only person who might understand how Nella feels is Angela, but the two of them have gone from being “secret sisters” to not talking at all.

Then Angela’s idolized big brother makes a terrible, fatal mistake, one that tears apart their tight-knit community and plunges his family into a whirlwind of harsh publicity. In the midst of this controversy, Nella is faced with startling revelations about her parents, friends, and neighborhood. Soon she must choose whether to stand by or stand up.

The clock ticks down, and in that extra second, past and present merge—the future will be up to Nella.

About the Author


Tricia Springstubb is the author of the acclaimed middle grade novels What Happened on Fox Street and Mo Wren, Lost and Found as well as the picture book Phoebe & Digger. The mother of three grown daughters, she lives with her husband and cats in Cleveland Heights, Ohio. You can visit her online at www.triciaspringstubb.com.

Praise For…


★ “With an engaging protagonist, a fast-moving story, important themes subtly conveyed, and touches of humor, this is a richly layered story that will have wide appeal.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★ “Nella’s growing awareness of endings and beginnings, the meaning of friendship, and the power of choices combine to create an unsettling, compelling, and heartwarming tale.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A complex and rich tale, one that will have readers pondering, along with Nella, life’s big questions.”
— Horn Book Magazine

“Springstubb admirably takes on a sensitive and difficult contemporary American issue. Sure to spark discussion in classrooms and book clubs.”
— School Library Journal

“Rich in complex issues that include caring for the elderly, the problems of friendship, and the role of God in everyday life.”
— Booklist
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062366290
ISBN-10: 0062366297
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: November 14th, 2017
Pages: 368
Language: English