Dear Muslim Child (Hardcover)

Dear Muslim Child By Rahma Rodaah, Aya Ghanameh (Illustrator) Cover Image

Dear Muslim Child (Hardcover)

By Rahma Rodaah, Aya Ghanameh (Illustrator)

$19.99


Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

This inspirational picture book from the author of Dear Black Child encourages Muslim children to take joy and pride in their Islamic faith. Perfect for fans of In My Mosque and The Proudest Blue.

Dear Muslim Child, your story matters.

In this lyrical ode to Islam, Muslim children all over the world are encouraged to celebrate their faith and traditions. 

Rahma Rodaah was born and raised in Hargeisa, Somaliland. At the age of eight, her family immigrated to Canada where she still resides today. She is a mother of four children and enjoys reading and coming up with silly bedtime stories. She is also the author of two self-published picture books and firmly believes that children need to be able to identify themselves in the books they read. You can visit her online at www.rahmarodaah.com.



Aya Ghanameh is a Palestinian illustrator, writer, and designer from Amman, Jordan. She received her BFA in Illustration from Rhode Island School of Design with a concentration in literary arts, and completed a yearlong Children's Books & Gifts Design Fellowship at Chronicle Books. You can visit her online at ayaghanameh.com.

Product Details ISBN: 9780063091993
ISBN-10: 0063091992
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: February 6th, 2024
Pages: 32
Language: English

“A heartfelt love letter urging Muslim children everywhere to courageously embrace the tenets of their faith. Poetic language and a palette of cool colors that complements the comforting words together evoke warmth, safety, and pride. Illustrations featuring children and adults who have a variety of skin tones, body shapes, and clothing styles reflect the rich diversity of the global Muslim community. Nurturing, encouraging, and necessary.” — Kirkus Reviews

Praise for DEAR BLACK CHILD: “Through a series of light-filled illustrations, the book stresses that there is space for Black children to become explorers, take center stage, and celebrate their heritage. Rodaah and Mba address Black children’s need to feel safe and accepted within their larger communities, the lack of African American representation in history books, and microaggressions they may experience, but they also remind children that they are loved…. A rousing affirmation that Black children belong.” — Kirkus Reviews

“This upbeat and inspiring missive [is] a triumphant mirror book for Black children everywhere, providing encouragement, validation, and joy.” — School Library Journal