Can't view our main menu?  Click here to navigate our site in older browsers.

MAC'S BACKS BOOK CLUB DISCUSSES FRIDAY BLACK

Mac's Backs Book Club discusses Friday Black by Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah.

A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America.

From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country.

These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In "The Finkelstein Five," Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In "Zimmer Land," we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And "Friday Black" and "How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King" show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all.

Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders, Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.

NANA KWAME ADJEI-BRENYAH is the New York Times-bestselling author of Friday Black. Originally from Spring Valley, New York, he graduated from SUNY Albany and went on to receive his MFA from Syracuse University. His work has appeared or is forthcoming from numerous publications, including the New York Times Book ReviewEsquireLiterary Hub, the Paris ReviewGuernica, and Longreads. He was selected by Colson Whitehead as one of the National Book Foundation's "5 Under 35" honorees.

"An unbelievable debut, one that announces a new and necessary American voice." --Tommy Orange, New York Times Book Review

"An excitement and a wonder: strange, crazed, urgent and funny." --George Saunders

"Dark and captivating and essential . . . A call to arms and a condemnation . . . Read this book." --Roxane Gay

.Friday Black is available at the store or through our website, www.macsbacks.com, at the 20% book club discount. We meet at Hunan on Coventry, just down the street from the bookstore,

Event date: 
Wednesday, June 19, 2019 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm
Event address: 
1820 Coventry Rd.
Cleveland Heights, OH 44118
Friday Black Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781328911247
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - October 23rd, 2018