Can't view our main menu?  Click here to navigate our site in older browsers.

MAC'S BACKS SCI FI BOOK CLUB DISCUSSES A STUDY IN HONOR

Mac's Backs Sci Fi Book Club discusses A Study in Honor by Claire O'Dell.

Dr. Janet Watson knows firsthand the horrifying cost of a divided nation. While she was treating broken soldiers on the battlefields of the New Civil War, a sniper's bullet shattered her arm and ended her career. Honorably discharged and struggling with the semifunctional mechanical arm that replaced the limb she lost, she returns to the nation's capital, a bleak, edgy city in the throes of a fraught presidential election. Homeless, jobless, and still heartbroken over a bad breakup with her girlfriend, Watson is uncertain of the future when she meets Sara Holmes, a mysterious yet playfully challenging covert agent who offers the doctor a place to stay Watson's readjustment to civilian life is complicated by the infuriating antics of her strange new roommate. But the tensions between them dissolve when Watson discovers that soldiers from the New Civil War have begun dying one by one--and that the deaths may be the tip of something far more dangerous, involving the pharmaceutical industry and even the looming election. Joining forces, Watson and Holmes embark on a thrilling investigation to solve the mystery--and secure justice for these fallen soldiers.

"Readers who pick this up for the novelty of Watson and Holmes as black women will be impressed by how well O'Dell realizes them as full, rich characters. This is a real treat for fans of Conan Doyle and SF mysteries."--Publishers Weekly

"I may be a sucker for a good Dr. Watson, or maybe Claire O'Dell (an open pseudonym for Beth Bernobich) has just written a hell of a good novel, because A Study in Honor turns out to be one of those books I find impossible to put down. I want the sequel immediately."-- Tor.com

Claire O'Dell grew up in the suburbs of Washington, D.C., in the years of the Vietnam War and the Watergate Scandal. She attended high school just a few miles from the house where Mary Surratt once lived and where John Wilkes Booth planned for Lincoln to die. All this might explain why she spent so much time in the history and political science departments at college. Claire currently lives in Manchester, Connecticut, with her family and two idiosyncratic cats.

The book will be available at Mac's Backs or through our website, www.macsbacks.com at the 20% book club discount.

 

Event date: 
Thursday, November 21, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Event address: 
1820 Coventry Rd.
Cleveland Heights, OH 44118