SHOT CLOCK with CARON BUTLER & JUSTIN REYNOLDS

Saturday, September 10, 2022 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm

Mac's Backs and Lake Erie Ink are sponsoring a booksigning event with Miami Heat coach Caron Butler and author Justin Reynolds for their new book Shot Clock. The event will take place on Saturday, September 10th at 2 pm at Pekar Park, 2785 Euclid Heights Blvd in Cleveland Heights.

Kids will meet Caron Butler and Justin Reynolds to get their book signed while participating in "Buzzer Beating Poetry."  There will be a portable basketball hoop at Pekar Park and kids will play ball and write poems that make points. Lake Erie Ink will put on a clinic for poets and ballers --- all ages and levels of skill are welcome. Balls and ballpoint pens supplied!

ABOUT SHOT CLOCK

Former NBA All-Star Caron Butler and acclaimed author Justin A. Reynolds tip off the first book in a new middle grade series about a young boy trying to make his mark on an AAU basketball team coached by a former NBA star in his hometown. Perfect for fans of The Crossover and the Track series. 

Tony loves basketball. But the game changed recently when his best friend, Dante, a hoops phenom, was killed by a police officer. Tony hopes he can carry on Dante's legacy by making the Sabres, the AAU basketball team Dante took to two national championships.

Tony doesn't make the team, but Coach James likes what he sees from Tony at tryouts and offers him another chance: join the team as the statistician. With his community reeling and the team just finding its footing on the court, can Tony find a path to healing while helping to bring the Sabres a championship?

ABOUT THE AUTHORS

Caron Butler is a former two-time NBA all-star who played for fourteen seasons. He is currently an assistant coach for the Miami Heat and previously was a TV commentator on ESPN, NBC, TNT, and NBA TV. His memoir, Tuff Juice: My Journey from the Streets to the NBA, was published by Lyons Press in 2016. Tuff Juice is being produced as a film by Mark Wahlberg. Caron is an entrepreneur, philanthropist, and activist. He created the Butler Elite Basketball Program and the 3D foundation. Caron lives in Miami with his family.

Justin A. Reynolds has always wanted to be a writer. Opposite of Always, his debut YA novel, was an Indies Introduce selection and a School Library Journal Best Book and has been translated into nineteen languages. His second YA novel, Early Departures, was a Kirkus Reviews Best YA Book of the Year. His debut middle grade, a Miles Morales graphic novel titled Shock Waves, was an indie bestseller. Another middle grade novel It's the End of the World and I'm in My Bathing Suit was published in April 2022.

Event address: 
2785 Euclid Heights Blvd.
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106
Books: 
Shot Clock By Caron Butler, Justin A. Reynolds Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063069596
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 6th, 2022